Currituck Outer Banks may reopen to non-resident property owners this Thursday

Currituck Beach Lighthouse. []

The Currituck County Board of Commissioners have voted to reopen access for non-resident property owners to Corolla starting this Thursday, and visitors as early as the middle of the next month.

Board members also decided that visitors may be able to start coming to the Currituck Banks starting May 15. But that date will not be finalized until the next commissioners meeting on May 4.

The exact date on reopening to non-resident property owners will be contingent on the announcement being made by the Dare County Control Group on Tuesday about reopening their part of the Outer Banks.

Visitors access to the Outer Banks has been restricted for the last six weeks due to concerns about the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic and its potential impacts on the local healthcare system.

Non-resident property owners were barred by both Dare and Currituck from entering on March 20. Those who have been on the Outer Banks since the restrictions began have been allowed to remain.

Details about pass or paperwork requirements, as well as how those traveling with the non-resident property owners will or will not be allowed in, must still be worked out with the county’s emergency management department and other staff.

More details are expected to be announced by Currituck officials on Tuesday.

This is a developing story, stay with OBX Today for updates.

This story originally appeared on Read More local stories here.