Independence Day fireworks return to the Outer Banks

Fireworks over Silver Lake Harbor. [courtesy Ocracoke Civic and Business Association]

Corolla, Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, Manteo, Hatteras Island and Ocracoke will all host Independence Day fireworks this July after a year off due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Currituck Travel and Tourism will host a celebration not on Sunday, July 4, but on Monday, July 5, this year at Historic Corolla Park from 5-9 p.m. The celebration includes family activities and food provided by local vendors and concludes with fireworks at dusk. Admission is free and free parking is available at the park until lots are full. Festivities include a watermelon eating contest and a kids dance contest before the fireworks show.

The Kill Devil Hills fireworks show returns July 4 at Avalon Pier, 2111 Virginia Dare Trail near milepost 6. The display sets off at dusk.

The Town of Nags Head’s annual Fourth of July fireworks are scheduled for 9:25 p.m. July 4 at the Nags Head Pier at 3335 South Virginia Dare Trail near mile post 11.5.

Rain dates for both Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head fireworks is July 5.

The Town of Manteo has said its Fourth of July celebration will also be back this year, with apple pies, a children’s bicycle parade, live music and evening fireworks. No other details have yet been released.

On Hatteras Island, the Avon Property Owners Association will set off fireworks at 9 p.m. July 4 from Avon Pier in cooperation with the National Park Service.

And on Ocracoke Island, the annual July 3 fireworks show is back, along with an Independence Day parade on July 4, as well as a host of other activities all weekend long.

This story originally appeared on Read More local stories here.